Minor in Possession
Worcester Minor in Possession Lawyers
Any penalty for underage drinking may be avoided with top criminal defense attorneys who serve Worcester County, MA
In the state of Massachusetts, it is illegal for a minor, or a person under the age of 21, to be in possession of alcohol. At Murphy & Rudolf, LLP, our Worcester criminal defense lawyers possess 50 years of combined experience and can help build your case and represent you in court. Do you need to avoid a penalty for underage drinking? Call today at (508) 762-1397 for a free consultation.
In Massachusetts, it is illegal for minors to:
- Purchase alcohol
Have someone over the age of 21 purchase alcohol on their behalf
Possess, transport, or carry alcohol in any way
Lie about their age in order to obtain alcohol for themselves
However, minors may be able to carry, transport, or possess alcohol through employment. This could happen when an establishment hires employees over the age of 18 but under the age of 21. In this case, the minor employees can carry, serve, sell, distribute, or otherwise handle alcohol legally as long as they do not consume the alcohol themselves.
In addition, minors in the company of parents, caregivers, or guardians over the age of 21 may legally possess, carry, or transport alcohol but may not consume it. If a minor is found to be in possession of alcohol, he or she can be arrested on site and held for 24 hours in police custody until charges are filed. It is important to contact dedicated Worcester criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible, and the legal team at Murphy & Rudolf, LLP is well equipped to handle a variety of issues that may arise with minor in possession cases. It is possible to avoid a penalty for underage drinking by hiring the right help. Contact our experienced legal team today.
Using Fraudulent Identification to Obtain Alcohol
In the state of Massachusetts, if a minor uses fraudulent identification to obtain alcohol, the penalties could include a jail sentence of up to three months and fines not exceeding $200. If they are also found to be in possession of alcohol, additional penalties may apply. At Murphy & Rudolf, LLP, our Worcester criminal defense attorneys can walk you through the legal process and provide thorough representation for your case.
The penalty for underage drinking may include:
- $50 fine for first time offenses
$150 fine for subsequent offenses
Driver’s license suspension for up to 90 days
In addition, minors may face fines of up to $300 and suspension of their driver’s license for 180 days. These penalties apply if they are charged with possession as well as using a fake ID to obtain alcohol or attempting to purchase alcohol. Massachusetts laws are strict regarding minor in possession charges, so it important to seek legal help immediately to protect your rights in court.
Diligent Defense for Minor in Possession Charges
Murphy & Rudolf, LLP is dedicated to meticulous case preparation and aggressive representation. With our experienced Worcester criminal defense lawyers, you can receive legal assistance for your case. We keep up-to-date on federal, state, and local laws dealing with minor in possession cases and work hard to seek a positive outcome.
Call us at (508) 425-6330 to learn more about our criminal defense services. Schedule your free consultation today.
We believe in working together as a unified team. By working collaboratively, each team member can bring unique critical thinking solutions to the table.
To represent our clients effectively, we must have an effective strategy put into place. We are calculated, prepared, and primed to take action.
We purposely limit our caseload to make sure our clients receive one-on-one attention. We treat you like one of our own because you deserve it.
Our attorneys know the value of examining evidence, hiring investigators, and interviewing witnesses. We can go to court on your behalf at any moment.