An Overview of What Penalties You Face for “OUI First Offense Massachusetts”
We know that being arrested for drunk driving can be a very scary and overwhelming matter. We also know that if it’s your first offense, you likely do not know what to do or what steps to take after arrest. If you or a loved one is facing charges for operating under the influence, and you’re trying to understand information around “OUI first offense Massachusetts,” the first thing you should do is contact an experienced attorney.
If you are in the Worcester, Massachusetts area, and need an OUI attorney, please do not hesitate to contact us at Murphy & Rudolf, LLP: (508) 570-3037. We will review your case and assess how we can best be of service for your defense.
This article is intended to help provide a bit of information around DUIs, and more specifically “OUI first offense Massachusetts” — a common search for those trying to navigate the situation.
Implications of Getting an OUI in Massachusetts
Every state has its own laws around alcohol consumption and operating a vehicle. When you were searching “OUI first offense Massachusetts” you may have noticed another acronym: DUI. This stands for Driving Under the Influence. Ultimately, regardless of the name, if you are charged with an OUI in Massachusetts, you are being charged with a crime that can carry penalties that can impact your life in the long term.
If this applies to you or perhaps someone that you are trying to help, it’s important to act quickly and seek legal representation. If you have been charged with a first OUI offense in the Worcester County area, our skilled OUI lawyers can help you through this charge and make sure it does not need to have more of a negative consequence than it already might have.
The Stress of the First Offense
It can be completely overwhelming to have to deal with law enforcement, the bail system, and just generally knowing what to do. It’s only natural (and smart!) to look for helpful information regarding “OUI first offense in Massachusetts.” Ultimately, the best course of action is to hire legal representation, but it’s also helpful to have some context about what sort of penalties you may face.
Penalties for an OUI first offense in Massachusetts may include:
- Fines from $500 to $5,000
- Up to two and a half years in prison
- License suspension up to one year
How an Attorney Can Help With “OUI First Offense Massachusetts”
In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, some OUI penalties are legally mandated, meaning there is no flexibility for the judge to adjust the punishment. However, one of Murphy & Rudolf’s experienced attorneys may be able to*:
- Get your license back for you within a week by applying for a hardship license.
- Negotiate or eliminate any jail time that may be on the table
- Negotiate the OUI charge down to a lesser offense, and/or
- Leverage a plea bargain to avoid trial
Additionally, our OUI lawyers will gather the necessary documents and represent you at the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) hearing.
Contact Murphy & Rudolf, LLP today for a free consultation if you’re looking for support in an “OUI first offense Massachusetts.” Our experienced and skilled attorneys will provide the aggressive legal representation you need and deserve.