Possession of a Controlled Substance Lawyer in Massachusetts
Do you need a possession of a controlled substance lawyer? Our dedicated criminal defense firm represents clients in the Springfield & Worcester areas
In the state of Massachusetts, not only are dangerous controlled substances illegal to possess, but sometimes the materials used to manufacture them are as well. Do you need a possession of a controlled substance lawyer? The Worcester criminal defense attorneys at Murphy & Rudolf, LLP are well versed in Massachusetts drug laws and can help you to seek a positive solution.
Call our firm today at (508) 570-3037 for a free consultation.
Understanding Classifications & Penalties for Controlled Substances
Each state in the United States has its own laws regarding the possession of controlled substances. Massachusetts classifies controlled substances on a five-tiered, A through E scale. The Worcester criminal defense lawyers at Murphy & Rudolf, LLP can analyze the facts of your situation and help you understand the facts of your case.
Controlled substance classifications include:
- Class A – Includes heroin, morphine, codeine, and ketamine
- Class B – Includes cocaine, crack, PCP, LSD, and amphetamines
- Class C – Includes mescaline, diazepam, and peyote
- Class D – Includes marijuana, hashish, or any drug containing THC as its psychoactive component
- Class E – Includes prescription medication
Massachusetts law regards each class of controlled substances differently in terms of charges and possession. The possession of a class E or D substance may come with a misdemeanor charge and a small penalty. On the other hand, the possession of a class A substance may be deemed a felony that may incur much harsher charges.
Penalties for possessing controlled substances in Massachusetts include:
- Class A – Two years in jail for first time offenses, and up to five years in prison and fines of $2,000 to $5,000 for subsequent offenses
- Class B – A year in jail for first time offenses and two years in jail with fines for subsequent offenses
- Class C – A year in jail for first time offenses as well as fines with increased penalties for subsequent offenses
- Class D – Six months in jail and fines not exceeding $500 plus a one-year driver’s license revocation for first time and subsequent offenses
- Class E – Probation and/or fines for first time and subsequent offenses
In 2008, voters passed a ballot to allow small amounts of marijuana to become decriminalized, meaning that a person may not be charged for possessing one ounce or less of marijuana. If a person is found to be in possession of a greater amount of marijuana than one ounce, however, he or she will face criminal class D drug possession charges. At Murphy & Rudolf, LLP, our Worcester criminal defense attorneys can answer your questions and explore your options to pursue a favorable outcome.
Call us at (508) 570-3037 for more information.
“The communication was clear, precise, and consistent; they answered all of our questions with a lot of patience.” - Jeanette F.
“They were truly the best attorneys I could have asked for.” - Louie W.
“Him and his staff are attentive, and respectful when it came to dealing with this case.” - Nilson Crespo