What to Expect From a First Time Oui Offense in Massachusetts

Roughly 800 people are injured in a motor vehicle crash every day that involves drunk driving. This is a sobering statistic, to be sure. If you were involved in an accident as the intoxicated driver, you definitely need to speak with a DUI lawyer. Every state in America takes drunk driving seriously, and consequently, the penalties can be quite severe. This is why it is of the utmost importance for you to hire a competent team of legal counsel to fight in your corner. If you live in Massachusetts, you do not need a DUI lawyer, but an OUI attorney (Operating Under the Influence lawyer) instead. The experienced OUI attorneys of Murphy & Rudolf, LLP are equipped with the knowledge, experience and skill to guide you through the process of facing a DUI charge.

Contact our office at (508) 570-3037 today for a free consultation.

Drunk driving should, of course, never be taken lightly, nor should it be condoned or supported. However, in some cases, the person under the influence of alcohol may not be at fault for the accident. That is why having an experienced OUI lawyer working for you is so important.

OUI Laws In Massachusetts
For a first OUI offense, you can expect to see the following criminal penalties.

  • A fine ranging from $500 – $5,000 depending on the situation.
  • Potential court-mandated alcohol education program.
  • A year-long suspension of your license.
  • A maximum jail sentence of up to, but not exceeding, two and a half years.

Other penalties may include RMV imposed fines and suspensions. Further criminal charges could be brought if a serious bodily injury to another driver or passenger has occurred. This carries, on top of everything stated above, a mandatory minimum of six months in jail, and a sentence not to exceed 10 years in a Massachusetts state prison. If the accident caused a death, there are a number of much more severe felony charges that could be filed against you. It is unnecessary to face these charges alone. The DUI lawyers of Murphy & Rudolf, LLP will work deftly for the best possible outcome for your case.

If you believe you were not the cause of the accident, have any evidence to support this claim, or have any evidence to suggest that you were not intoxicated at the time of the accident, tell this to your criminal lawyers immediately. Be honest; this will help your attorney build the strongest possible case.

It is never safe to drive while under the influence of alcohol. Doing so can put lives at risk. At the same time, you cannot change the past. All there is to be done is to accept reality as it comes and try hard to live a good life.

Categories: 
Related Posts
  • Sex Offender Registration & Your Future Read More
  • Public Defenders vs. Private Criminal Defense Attorneys Read More
  • Do All Criminal Cases Have Juries? Read More
/