If You’re Facing a Drug Charge in Massachusetts, Hiring a Drug Defense Attorney Should Be Your Number One Priority.
The state of Massachusetts takes drug charges very seriously. To protect your future, it’s pivotal to hire a drug defense attorney with the right qualifications, successful track record, and experience to represent you in court.
In this article, we’ll cover the consequences of being convicted on a drug charge in Massachusetts and the benefits of hiring a professional drug defense attorney.
If you are in the Worcester area and are facing drug charges, do not hesitate to reach out to the lawyers at Murphy and Rudolf, LLP. Schedule a free consultation with us to discuss the specifics of your case: (508) 570-3037.
The Consequences of a Massachusetts Drug Charge
Massachusetts is known for being hard on drug charges and punishments can result in imprisonment for up to a year or a $1,000 fine depending on the drugs in possession. Class A drugs, such as Heroin, result in harsher punishments compared to marijuana charges.
Your punishment will be determined by 1) the drug in possession and 2) if it’s a repeated offense. It’s important to get a drug defense attorney to protect you from a potentially devastating outcome.
- First Offense Penalties: If it’s the individual’s first offense for possessing drugs such as Cocaine, the penalty can be up to 1 year of imprisonment, a $1,000 fine, or both. If the drug in possession is more serious, like Heroin or Fentanyl, the consequences double. The individual can face up to two years in a house of correction, face a $2,000 fine, or both.
In 2016, voters in Massachusetts voted to have marijuana approved for recreational use, meaning the penalties for excessive marijuana possession are less severe. If the individual is in possession of marijuana, they may face a punishment of 6 to 15 months in prison.
- Second Offense Penalties: People facing second offense drug charges are going to see harsher punishments. For drugs such as Cocaine and even Marijuana, a second offense can result in up to two years in a house correction facility, a fine of up to $2,000, or both. Individuals with a second offense facing Class A drug charge can be sentenced to state prison for up to five years, or fined up to $5,000 and sentenced to jail or house of correction for up to two and a half years.
The penalties for drug charges increase with each repeat offense. The best way to avoid hefty penalties is to hire a professional drug defense attorney with the right qualifications and relentless pursuit to protect their clients’ rights.
Hire a Dedicated Massachusetts Drug Defense Attorney Today
At Murphy & Rudolf, we are a team of dedicated drug defense attorneys with the right qualifications and experience to set you up for success. Whether you’re facing a first-time drug charge or more, we have the skills to protect you from severe punishments. Contact us online or by calling (508) 570-3037 to schedule a free consultation to discuss the details of your case.